facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

The Center for Native American Youth (CNAY) last week announced the 2024 cohort of the Remembering Our Sisters Fellowship, which supports individuals with a demonstrated commitment to raising awareness about the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and Two-Spirit (MMIWG2S+) epidemic. 

The 2024 Remembering Our Sisters Fellows are Sage Chief (Oglala Lakota and Diné); McKaylin Peters (Menominee Nation); Linaly Miyamoto (Coast Salish Cowichan); MarLynn Cloud (Apsáalooke Nation); Christina Kaltsukis, (Yakama); and Summer Wildbill from the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation.

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

Throughout the Fellowship, participants will receive stipends, technical assistance, mentorship, peer-to-peer learning opportunities, and a platform to share their projects. Throughout six months, fellows will create digital art and digital storytelling projects that bring attention and awareness to this critical issue.

"We are honored to welcome the 2024 Remembering Our Sisters Fellows into our CNAY family," Cheyenne Brady, Associate Director of Youth Programs, said in a press release. "By uplifting their voices through the arts, these young leaders are fueling the powerful and relentless movement that is working to protect our Indigenous sisters, daughters, and relatives."

The Fellowship kicked off with the 2024 Remember Our Sisters Week, where the new cohort came together virtually to discuss their goals, learn from one another, and hear from influential women working to address the MMIWG2S+ epidemic.

Speakers included former North Dakota State Representative Ruth Buffalo (Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation), Executive Producer of the short film "Not Afraid" Jen Murphey (Chippewa Cree Tribes), ReeCreeations owner Agnes Woodward-Yellowbear (Kawacatoose First Nation), 3rd year PhD Candidate Jamie Yellowtail (Apsáalooke), and award-winning investigative journalist Connie Walker (Cree).

More Stories Like This

Q&A: Indigenous Actor Joel Montgrand on Season Two of Hit Podcast 'Actors & Ancestors'
Chickasaw Writer Pens First Romantic Comedy 
Here's What's Going in Indian Country, May June 7th — June 13th
Disney+ to Release 2012 Blockbuster 'Avengers' Dubbed in Lakota
Q&A: First Nations Artist Terrance Houle on Honoring Late Mother with Newest Work

Join us in celebrating 100 years of Native citizenship. On June 2, 1924, President Calvin Coolidge signed the Indian Citizenship Act, granting Native Americans US citizenship, a pivotal moment in their quest for equality. This year marks its centennial, inspiring our special project, "Heritage Unbound: Native American Citizenship at 100," celebrating their journey with stories of resilience, struggle, and triumph. Your donations fuel initiatives like these, ensuring our coverage and projects honoring Native American heritage thrive. Your donations fuel initiatives like these, ensuring our coverage and projects honoring Native American heritage thrive.

About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].