facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

Two Indigenous candidates vying for seats in the U.S. House won primary elections this week in Wyoming and Alaska, earning them a chance to be the first Native women to represent their respective states in Congress. 

Lynette GreyBull, Northern Arapaho and Hunkpapa Lakota, was announced as the winner of the Democratic Party primary in Wyoming. 

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

Mary Peltola, Yup’ik, earned a chance to represent Alaska in the U.S. House in the seat that was occupied by the late Congressman Don Young for five decades. Peltola earned 38 percent of the vote in a special election to fill Young’s seat through January. She also led the slate of candidates, including former Alaska Governor Sarah Palin, in the race to fill Young’s seat beyond 2023. Alaska uses a ranked voting system that allows the top performers in the primary to advance to the general election, regardless of their political party. 

If both GreyBull and Peltola win in November’s midterm elections, they would both be the first Indigenous person to represent their respective states in Congress. 

In the general election, GreyBull will face Republican Harriet Hegeman, who is supported by former President Donald J. Trump. Hegeman beat incumbent Representative Liz Cheney, a Republican who has been outspoken against the attack on the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021. 

“I want to thank the voters of Wyoming, my amazing campaign team, the state Democratic Party and all the hard-working county parties, and especially Meghan Jensen, a true visionary in this great state,” GreyBull said in a press release

GreyBull earned 4,503 votes, or 62.3% of the 7,233 total votes in Wyoming’s Democratic primary election on Tuesday, August 16. Hageman earned 113,025, or 66.3% of 170,409 votes cast in Wyoming’s Republican primary election on Tuesday. 

GreyBull has been an advocate for Indian Country for more than 10 years. She is the founder and director of Not Our Native Daughters, an organization that focuses on the work and education of Human Trafficking and the Missing, Murdered Indigenous Women & Girls (MMIP). She also serves on the Wyoming Governor’s Task Force for Missing, Murdered Indigenous Persons, and the Wyoming Human Trafficking Task Force. She was previously the Chair of the Arizona Commission of Indian Affairs at the Governor’s Office from 2014 to 2016. 

In Alaska, Peltola was the only Democrat to advance to the general election.  She earned 58,689, or 38% of the approximately 154,304 votes cast. Peltola’s nearest contender is Republican Palin, who is backed by former President Donald J. Trump. 

Peltola previously served in the Alaska House of Representatives from 1999 to 2009. She also served on the Orutsararmiut Native Council Tribal Court and the Bethel City Council, and on the boards of the Nature Conservancy, the Alaska Humanities Forum, the Alaska Children’s Trust, and the Russian Orthodox Sacred Sites in Alaska according to her campaign. 

If Peltola wins in November’s election, she would be the first Alaskan Native to serve in Congress and the first woman to represent the state of Alaska in the House of Representatives. 

Approximately 15 percent of Alaska’s population is Indigenous. 

Alaska’s Senate primary also included a long-time supporter of Native Alaskans. Incumbent Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) advanced in Tuesday’s primary and will face off in the general election against Republican contender Kelly Tshibaka, who is supported by former Donald J. Trump. 

Murkowski earned 68,800 votes, or 44.2% of 155,712 votes against her closest contender, Tshibaka, who earned 61,944 votes, or 39.8% of 155,712 votes in Tuesday’s primary election. 

Murkowski, who voted to convict former President Donald J. Trump in his impeachment trial, is seeking her fourth term in the U.S. Senate and is the current Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. 

More Stories Like This

Inter-Tribal Council Passes Resolution Urging FCC to Establish Specific Event Code for Missing and Endangered Persons
Native News Weekly (April 21 2024): D.C. Briefs
Q+A: Journalist Connie Walker Reflects on Season 3 of 'Stolen' Podcast Investigating Navajo Nation MMIP Cases
Native Bidaské with Sarah Eagle Heart (Oglála Lakota) on the Indigenous Fashion Collective
Twelve Cherokee Nation Cyclists, 950 Miles: The 40th Annual Remember the Removal Bike Ride

Native Perspective.  Native Voices.  Native News. 

We launched Native News Online because the mainstream media often overlooks news that is important is Native people. We believe that everyone in Indian Country deserves equal access to news and commentary pertaining to them, their relatives and their communities. That's why the story you’ve just finished was free — and we want to keep it that way, for all readers.  We hope you'll consider making a donation to support our efforts so that we can continue publishing more stories that make a difference to Native people, whether they live on or off the reservation. Your donation will help us keep producing quality journalism and elevating Indigenous voices. Any contribution of any amount — big or small — gives us a better, stronger future and allows us to remain a force for change. Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous-centered journalism. Thank you.

About The Author
Author: Darren ThompsonEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Darren Thompson (Lac du Flambeau Ojibwe) is a staff reporter for Native News Online who is based in the Twin Cities of Minnesota. Thompson has reported on political unrest, tribal sovereignty, and Indigenous issues for the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network, Indian Country Today, Native News Online, Powwows.com and Unicorn Riot. He has contributed to the New York Times, the Washington Post, and Voice of America on various Indigenous issues in international conversation. He has a bachelor’s degree in Criminology & Law Studies from Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.