facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

WASHINGTON — Rep. Yvette Herrell (Cherokee) is the only Native American in Congress who voted no H.R. 1620: Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2021 on Wednesday. The bill passed the House of Representatives and will move to the Senate for consideration.

The first term Republican, who represents the 2nd congressional district in New Mexico, has not commented publicly on her reason for her no vote.

The four other Native Americans in Congress, Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK) – Chickasaw Nation; Rep. Sharice Davids (D-KS) – Ho-Chunk Nation; Rep. Kaialiʻi Kahele (D-HI) – Native Hawaiian; and Rep. Markwayne Mullin, (R-OK), Cherokee, supported the legislation.

A strong supporter of the H.R. 1620, former Rep. Deb Haaland (D-NM) – Laguna Pueblo resigned from her congressional seat the day before Wednesday’s vote to become the 54th Secretary of the Dept. of the Interior.

Given the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women epidemic in Indian Country, the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act has wide support of tribes and tribal communities and Native American organizations.

Title 9 within the legislation—specifically addressing “Safety for Indian Women”—aims to improve the issues by authorizing funding for training and equipment, allowing tribal governments access to federal criminal investigation databases, and creating a pilot project to allow “up to five Indian Tribes in Alaska to implement special Tribal criminal jurisdiction.”

Co-Chair of the National Congress of American Indians’ Task Force on Violence Against Women, Juana Majel Dixon, said the group appreciated the House prioritizing the bill.

“This is about our right, as governments, to protect our citizens from violence,” she said in a statement. “It is about the countless victims who have experienced life-changing trauma simply because federal law has tied our hands from protecting them. We cannot allow this to continue.”

New Mexico’s 2nd congressional district, represented by Herrell, covers the southern half of New Mexico, including the southern fourth of Albuquerque.

Native News Online reached out to Rep. Herrell’s office for a comment on her no vote on Friday and has not received a response by press time.

More Stories Like This

Native News Weekly (December 10, 2023): D.C. Briefs
December 10th is the 75th Human Rights Day
Vice President Harris Addresses Indian Boarding Schools at the White House Tribal Nations Summit
Native News Online Reporter Selected for Oxford Climate Reporting Fellowship
'This has Been a Train Wreck for a Long Time' | Fentanyl Trafficking, Underfunded Tribal Enforcement Subject of Senate Committee Hearing

Together, we can educate, enlighten, and empower.

November is celebrated as “Native American Heritage Month.” At Native News Online, we amplify Native voices and share our relatives’ unique perspectives every day of the year. We believe every month should celebrate Native American heritage. 
If you appreciate our commitment to Native voices and our mission to tell stories that connect us to our roots and inspire understanding and respect, we hope you will consider making a donation this month to support our work. For those who commit to a recurring donation of $12 per month or more, or make a one-time donation of $150 or greater, we're excited to offer you a copy of our upcoming Indian Boarding School publication and access to our quarterly Founder’s Circle meetings and newsletter.  
About The Author
Levi Rickert
Author: Levi RickertEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Levi "Calm Before the Storm" Rickert (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation) is the founder, publisher and editor of Native News Online. Rickert was awarded Best Column 2021 Native Media Award for the print/online category by the Native American Journalists Association. He serves on the advisory board of the Multicultural Media Correspondents Association. He can be reached at [email protected].