facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

In commemoration of Native American Heritage Month, House Natural Resources Committee Ranking Member Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.) and other House members will hold a roundtable titled, “Strengthening Historic and Cultural Preservation” on Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. Eastern.

Historic and cultural preservation is a central part of telling America’s story; the places we choose to protect reflect the country’s values. For generations, however, historically underserved communities, including tribal communities, have been left out of historic preservation efforts. In addition, climate change poses new, ever-increasing threats to our historic and cultural resources. Moving forward, we must ensure that preservation efforts are fully resourced to adequately protect the diverse historic and cultural legacy of all Americans.

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

Expert panelists at the roundtable will discuss these issues and how Congress can better support and improve historic and cultural preservation.

WHEN: Wednesday, Nov. 29 at 10 am - ET


In-person: Capitol Visitor Center, Room CVC 217, Washington, DC


  • Natural Resources Committee Ranking Member Raúl M. Grijalva (D-Ariz.)
  • Indian and Insular Affairs Subcommittee Ranking Member Teresa Leger Fernández (D-N.M.)
  • Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Ranking Member Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.)
  • Committee Vice Ranking Member Sydney Kamlager-Dove (D-Calif.)
  • Rep. Don Beyer (D-Va.)


  • The Honorable Sara C. Bronin, Chair, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, Washington, D.C.
  • Mr. Shaw Sprague, Vice President for Government Relations, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Washington, D.C.
  • The Honorable Reno Keoni Franklin, Chairman, Kashia Band of Pomo Indians of the Stewarts Point Rancheria, National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers, Washington, D.C.
  • Dr. Shasta Gaughen, Chair, National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers, and Environmental Director and Tribal Historic Preservation Officer, Pala Band of Mission Indians, National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers, Washington, D.C.
  • Mr. Erik Hein, Executive Director, National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers, Washington, D.C. 

 Help us ensure that the celebration of Native Heritage never stops by donating here.

More Stories Like This

Women’s History Month: Wilma Pearl Mankiller
Native News Weekly (March 3, 2024): D.C. Briefs
USA Today Named Minnesota Lt. Gov. Peggy Flannagan to Women of the Year List
Legislation Introduced to Create a Native American Voting Rights Commission in Nebraska
Zuni Youth Enrichment Project Will Offer Multiple National Park Trips for Youth in 2024

Native Perspective.  Native Voices.  Native News. 

We launched Native News Online because the mainstream media often overlooks news that is important is Native people. We believe that everyone in Indian Country deserves equal access to news and commentary pertaining to them, their relatives and their communities. That's why the story you’ve just finished was free — and we want to keep it that way, for all readers.  We hope you'll consider making a donation to support our efforts so that we can continue publishing more stories that make a difference to Native people, whether they live on or off the reservation. Your donation will help us keep producing quality journalism and elevating Indigenous voices. Any contribution of any amount — big or small — gives us a better, stronger future and allows us to remain a force for change. Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous-centered journalism. Thank you.

About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].