facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

With only five Native American members in the 118th Congress, the congressional committee assignments they attain are important to Indian Country.

Seniority is another important factor. Republican Rep. Tom Cole (Chickasaw) is the longest serving Native American serving in Congress. With almost 20 years of experience on Capitol Hill, Cole, who is serving in his tenth term in the House of Representatives, was named on January 10, 2023 the chair of the powerful House Rules Committee by Speaker Kevin McCarthy. Cole is the first Native American to ever head the committee. 

He served as Vice Chairman of the committee beginning in 2017 and as Ranking Member of the committee during the past two congresses. 

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

Cole also serves on the House Appropriations Committee that allocates funding all across the federal government. 

Rep. Sharice Davids, a tribal citizen of the Ho-Chunk Nation, is serving in her third term In Congress. Davids, a Democrat who serves the 3rd congressional district in Kansas was named vice chair of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure. Given the poor road conditions on most Indian reservations, Davids’ serving on the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure may be beneficial to Indian Country. 

“Too often, we only think about infrastructure when it fails—but when we make smart policy choices, infrastructure has the power to connect us and to build the foundation for future economic growth,” Davids said.

Davids was also reappointed to the House Agriculture Committee, which has jurisdiction over federal agriculture policy, including forestry, nutrition, conservation, and other agriculture-related fields. It also oversees rural development broadly.

As the first Alaska Native ever to serve in Congress, Rep. Mary  Sattler Peltola (Yup'ik) was also appointed to the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure committee. Membership on the Transportation & Infrastructure committee is highly sought-after, as this committee has jurisdiction over major infrastructure projects nationwide. It oversees important federal agencies, including the Department of Transportation, the US Coast Guard, the Federal Emergency Management Association, and the Federal Aviation Administration.

“I’m thrilled to receive the appointment to the Transportation & Infrastructure Committee,” said Representative Peltola. This Committee’s work is critical to our state’s economic development. As Alaska depends on federal infrastructure dollars to support projects statewide, this position will enable my office to exercise more influence over funding that is crucial to growth in Alaska. I look forward to bringing home real results.”

Rep. Josh Bresheen, who is a tribal citizen of the Choctaw Nation, is serving his first term in Congress. A Republican, he was elected to serve Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district, for the open congressional seat held by Sen. Markwayne Mullin, who was elected to the U.S. Senate. 

“It is an honor to serve on both the House Committee on Homeland Security and the Budget Committee,” Brecheen said.

The Native Americans serving in Congress are listed by seniority: 

Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK-4th District)

  • Rules Committee - Chairman
  • Appropriations Committee - Vice Chairman

Rep. Sharice Davids (D-KS-3rd District)

  • Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure - Vice-Chair
  • Committee on Small Business
  • Committee on Agriculture
  • Joint Economic Committee

Rep. Mary Sattler Peltola (D-AK-At-Large)

  • Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
  • House Natural Resources Committee

Rep. Josh Brecheen ((R-OK-2nd District)

  • Committee on the Budget
  • Committee on Homeland Security

More Stories Like This

South Dakota House State Affairs Committee Advances Bill to Expand and Protect Native American Voting Rights
Historic Native Nations Agribusiness Trade Mission to Take Place in Canada in June
Biden Appoints The National Center’s Chris James (Cherokee) to Trade Advisory Committee
FCC Chairwoman Proposes New "Missing and Endangered Persons" Emergency Alert Code
California MMIP Summit Convenes Tribal Leaders to Address Epidemic of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Peoples

Native Perspective.  Native Voices.  Native News. 

We launched Native News Online because the mainstream media often overlooks news that is important is Native people. We believe that everyone in Indian Country deserves equal access to news and commentary pertaining to them, their relatives and their communities. That's why the story you’ve just finished was free — and we want to keep it that way, for all readers.  We hope you'll consider making a donation to support our efforts so that we can continue publishing more stories that make a difference to Native people, whether they live on or off the reservation. Your donation will help us keep producing quality journalism and elevating Indigenous voices. Any contribution of any amount — big or small — gives us a better, stronger future and allows us to remain a force for change. Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous-centered journalism. Thank you.

About The Author
Levi Rickert
Author: Levi RickertEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Levi "Calm Before the Storm" Rickert (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation) is the founder, publisher and editor of Native News Online. Rickert was awarded Best Column 2021 Native Media Award for the print/online category by the Native American Journalists Association. He serves on the advisory board of the Multicultural Media Correspondents Association. He can be reached at [email protected].