facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

WASHINGTON — The Democrats will retain control of the House of Representatives for the 117th Congress. The Democrats flipped the House in the 2018 mid-term election. Without all races decided, the Democrats are expected to have 234 seats to the Republicans’ 201.

As was expected the four incumbent American Indian House of Representatives have won re-election. The four current American Indians in the 117th Congress will have Republican Tom Cole (Chickasaw Nation), who represents Oklahoma’s 4th congressional district, after winning his tenth term. Cole took 67.3 percent of the vote to his Democratic challenger Mary Brannon who garnered 29.3 percent of the vote and Libertarian Bob White’s 3.4 percent.

115 rp ok 4 cole tomTom Cole (Chickasaw Nation)

Democrat Sharice Davids (Ho-Chunk Nation) has won her second term to the House of Representatives. In 2018, Davids, along with Rep. Deb Haaland, became the first two American Indian women elected to Congress. With 80 percent of the votes reporting, the race was called by the Associated Press. Davids received 53.7 percent to her GOP challenger’s 43.6 percent and Steve Hohe, who received 2.7 percent on the Libertarian ticket.

Deb Haaland (Laguna Pueblo) won her second term to Congress. Haaland represents New Mexico’s 1st congressional district, which represents Albuquerque in Washington. She beat out Michelle Garcia Holmes.

Haaland tweeted on Tuesday evening:

Tonight the people of New Mexico have chosen hope over fear, love over hate, community over division, and I am so honored that New Mexican’s have chosen me to serve in our nation’s 117th Congress.

Rep. Markwayne Mullin (Cherokee Nation) won his fifth term to represent Oklahoma’s 2nd congressional district. He won re-election Tuesday with 75 percent of the vote against Democratic challenger Daryell Lanier who received 22 percent. Libertarian candidate Richie Cataldo received 3 percent.

More Stories Like This

Native Artist and Former Cultural Advisor to the Chicago Blackhawks Sues Team for Sexual Harassment, Fraud
First Lady Jill Biden 'Shows Up' in Indian Country
National Indian Gaming Commission Announces Sharon Avery as Acting Chair
The Jicarilla Apache Nation Mourns the Passing of President Edward Velarde
Genealogy, Elite Clubs Focus of 88-year-old

About The Author
Levi Rickert
Author: Levi RickertEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Levi "Calm Before the Storm" Rickert (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation) is the founder, publisher and editor of Native News Online. Rickert was awarded Best Column 2021 Native Media Award for the print/online category by the Native American Journalists Association. He serves on the advisory board of the Multicultural Media Correspondents Association. He can be reached at [email protected].