The 24th Navajo Nation Council issued the following statement today in recognition of Veterans Day:

“Today, we recognize the achievements and sacrifices our Navajo men and women have made while serving in the U.S. Armed Forces,” said Hon. Chairman Daniel E. Tso (Littlewater, Pueblo Pintado, Torreon, Whitehorse Lake, Baca/Prewitt, Casamero Lake, Ojo Encino, Counselor). “Navajo leadership will continue to express their unwavering support for our veterans who have honorably served.” 

The 24th Navajo Nation Council is proud to honor the service and dedication for the following Council Delegates for their valor and leadership:

  • Hon. Eugene Tso – U.S. Army
  • Hon. Raymond Smith, Jr. – U.S. Navy
  • Hon. Kee Allen Begay, Jr. – U.S. Army
  • Hon. Rickie Nez – U.S. Army

Throughout their term, the 24th Navajo Nation Council has prioritized consulting with local and community veterans organizations. Additionally, members of the Council have increased their efforts in seeking out state and federal funds to provide essential services for Navajo veterans. 

U.S. President Joe Biden issued a proclamation on this federal holiday and urged all Americans and elected representatives to join in on the celebrations, “Today, we honor generations of patriots who have earned the title of ‘American veteran’ — a badge of courage that unites the finest group of former service members the world has ever known… We owe them an incredible debt that can never be fully repaid.”

Tribal Nations across the United States continue to carry on the remarkable warrior legacy and tradition through their service and commitment. According to the U.S. Department of Defense, a significant number of Native Americans have served in all of the nation’s wars beginning with the Revolutionary War.

More Stories Like This

Lawsuit Filed by Fort Belknap Indian Community Against Greenberg Traurig, LLP Reads Like a Movie Script
Special Edition Native Bidaské: Oglala Composer Mato Wayuhi
Ho-Chunk Trucker Spreads MMIP Message, Offers Safe Haven from Domestic Violence
Native News Weekly (September 24, 2023): D.C. Briefs
Assemblyman Ramos Honored with Award for Long Service to California Native American Commission

Native News is free to read.

We hope you enjoyed the story you've just read. For the past dozen years, we’ve covered the most important news stories that are usually overlooked by other media. From the protests at Standing Rock and the rise of the American Indian Movement (AIM), to the ongoing epidemic of Murdered and Missing Indigenous People (MMIP) and the past-due reckoning related to assimilation, cultural genocide and Indian Boarding Schools.

Our news is free for everyone to read, but it is not free to produce. That’s why we’re asking you to make a donation to help support our efforts. Any contribution — big or small — helps.  Most readers donate between $10 and $25 to help us cover the costs of salaries, travel and maintaining our digital platforms. If you’re in a position to do so, we ask you to consider making a recurring donation of $12 per month to join the Founder's Circle. All donations help us remain a force for change in Indian Country and tell the stories that are so often ignored, erased or overlooked.

Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous journalism. Thank you. 

About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].