facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) and U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) were formally elected as chair and vice chair, respectively, on Thursday of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. Both retain the committee positions they held in the 117th Congress.

During the last session, the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs was instrumental in passing bipartisan legislation including laws that protected tribal sovereignty as well as billions of dollars in funding for Indian Country. 

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

“None of our achievements in the last Congress would have been possible without the Committee’s bipartisan commitment to Native people in Indian Country, in Alaska, and in Hawaiʻi,” Schatz said in a statement. “Our longstanding tradition of bipartisanship is our strength, so I am truly proud to serve, for the second consecutive Congress, in leadership alongside my good friend, Senator Murkowski.”

“The 117th Congress proved to be a remarkably productive time for the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. We navigated part or all of close to 20 measures jurisdictional to us into federal law. We made strides in early 2021 with the passage of the Bipartisan Infrastructure bill, which contained nearly $13 billion in historic investments for Native people. We continued the success with the inclusion of our Tribal Title in the Violence Against Women Act Reauthorization. And we closed out 2022 with the passage of 12 bills that touched on Native languages, water settlements, and much more,” said Vice Chairman Murkowski. 

The Committee also adopted its rules for the 118th Congress and its funding resolution. The rules, as adopted, are available here.

The full video of today’s organizing meeting is available here.

Here is the list of the senators who will serve on the Committee.


Sen. Brian Schatz (Chair) - Hawai‘i

Sen. Maria Cantwell - Washington

Sen. Jon Tester - Montana

Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto - Nevada

Sen. Tina Smith - Minnesota

Sen. Ben Ray Luján - New Mexico


Sen. Lisa Murkowski (Vice Chair) - Alaska

Sen. John Hoeven - North Dakota

Sen. Steve Daines - Montana 

Sen. Markwayne Mullin - Oklahoma

Sen. Mike Rounds - South Dakota


More Stories Like This

Biden Nominates Salish & Kootenai Tribal Attorney Danna Jackson for Federal Bench
A Conversation With Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan: What We Can Celebrate Around the State
Return to the Heart Foundation Gives 44 Micro-Grants to Native Women Leaders
Indigenous Journalists Association President Addresses Members of the UNPFII
Inter-Tribal Council Passes Resolution Urging FCC to Establish Specific Event Code for Missing and Endangered Persons

Native Perspective.  Native Voices.  Native News. 

We launched Native News Online because the mainstream media often overlooks news that is important is Native people. We believe that everyone in Indian Country deserves equal access to news and commentary pertaining to them, their relatives and their communities. That's why the story you’ve just finished was free — and we want to keep it that way, for all readers.  We hope you'll consider making a donation to support our efforts so that we can continue publishing more stories that make a difference to Native people, whether they live on or off the reservation. Your donation will help us keep producing quality journalism and elevating Indigenous voices. Any contribution of any amount — big or small — gives us a better, stronger future and allows us to remain a force for change. Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous-centered journalism. Thank you.

About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].