facebook app symbol  twitter  linkedin  instagram 1

California Assemblymember James C. Ramos (D-San Bernardino), the first and only California Native American elected to the legislature, received an award from the California Native American Heritage Commission for serving as the longest serving chair. Ramos is a member of the Serrano/Cahuilla tribe and former chairman of the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians.

Ramos received the award on Thursday night at the California Tribal Chairpersons Association. 

“It is an honor to receive this recognition from an organization I hold in high regard for protecting the state’s Native American sacred sites and resources. I valued the opportunity to bring attention to the diversity and history of California’s tribes and to engage in the work of protecting our cultural patrimony,” Ramos said. 

Never miss Indian Country’s biggest stories and breaking news. Sign up to get our reporting sent straight to your inbox every weekday morning. 

The Commission was established by the California State Assembly in 1976 as the primary government agency responsible for identifying and cataloging Native American cultural resources. Up until then, there had been little government participation in the protection of California’s cultural resources.

As a Commission, it was authorized to identify a Most Likely Descendant (MLDs) when Native American human remains are discovered at places other than a dedicated cemetery so MLDs could make recommendations for the respectful treatment of those discovered human remains.

Ramos was appointed to the Commission by Republican Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger. He served as chairman of the Commission from 2008 until 2018 when he was elected assemblyman. 

Commissioner Wayne Nelson (Pala Tribe) introduced Ramos at the Thursday meeting and observed Ramos would probably have served longer but for his 2018 election to the Legislature. 

“In his time as a state legislator he has been able to challenge institutions to address and correct the lack of accurate and respectful representation of Native Americans. He is a true champion for Native American communities,” Nelson said.

Raymond Hitchcock, the Commission’s Executive Secretary stated, “It is our distinct pleasure to honor Assemblymember James Ramos as a longstanding Chairman of the Native American Heritage Commission from 2008 until 2018,” said Executive Secretary, Raymond C Hitchcock. “His passion and leadership of the Heritage Commission, fighting and advocating for the protection of our tribal Ancestors and communities is now on full display to the entire State of California. This is a testament to the beautiful soul this man really is!”

More Stories Like This

Photos from the 2023 White House Tribal Nations Summit
Native News Weekly (December 10, 2023): D.C. Briefs
December 10th is the 75th Human Rights Day
Vice President Harris Addresses Indian Boarding Schools at the White House Tribal Nations Summit
Native News Online Reporter Selected for Oxford Climate Reporting Fellowship

Together, we can educate, enlighten, and empower.

November is celebrated as “Native American Heritage Month.” At Native News Online, we amplify Native voices and share our relatives’ unique perspectives every day of the year. We believe every month should celebrate Native American heritage. 
If you appreciate our commitment to Native voices and our mission to tell stories that connect us to our roots and inspire understanding and respect, we hope you will consider making a donation this month to support our work. For those who commit to a recurring donation of $12 per month or more, or make a one-time donation of $150 or greater, we're excited to offer you a copy of our upcoming Indian Boarding School publication and access to our quarterly Founder’s Circle meetings and newsletter.  
About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].