The 101st Santa Fe Indian Market has announced the top winners in juried artwork classifications. More than 60 judges critiqued thousands of entries across a variety of categories on Thursday. Awards were announced at the Best of Show Ceremony on Friday at the Santa Fe Community Convention Center.


Best of Show: Jennifer Tafoya (Santa Clara Pueblo), Caught by Surprise, etched black pot with dinosaurs

Class I, Jewelry: Lyndon Tsosie (Navajo), Silver Sea turtle pendant with movable flippers

Class II, Pottery: Jennifer Tafoya (Santa Clara Pueblo), Caught by Surprise, etched black pot with dinosaurs

Class III, Painting, Drawing, Graphics & Photography: Dan HorseChief (Pawnee/Cherokee), Judgement Day Manifest, The Greasy Grass 1976 Keough’s Stand, painting

Class IV, Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carving & Sculpture: Arthur Holmes Jr. (Hopi), Talavi Morning Katsina

Class V, Sculpture: Ryan Benally (Navajo), Dreamscapes of Love

Class VI, Textiles: TahNibaa Naataanii (Navajo), Autumn Rose Carnival, Navajo weaving

Class VII, Diverse Arts: Victoria G. Adams (Southern Cheyenne/Arapaho), Sundance on Muddy Creek, tripod with glass containers

Class VIII, Beadwork & Quillwork: Jackie Larson Bread (Blackfeet), We Are Fierce, Blackfeet horse mask

Class IX, Youth (Artists aged 17 and under): Aydrian Day (HoChunk/Anishinaabe/Lakota), Father’s Love, Lakota style cradle board

Class XI, Basketry: Carol Emarthle Douglas (Northern Arapaho-Seminole), Skywoman Watches, coiled, waxed linen basket

2023 Special Award Winners

Excellence in traditional Hopi carvings: Shawn Deel


Excellence in lapidary: Benson Manygoats

Excellence in contemporary Hopi carvings: Arthur Holmes Jr.

Raw materials: Dominque Toya

Traditional Pottery Award: Delores Juanico

Mark Tahbo Memorial Award: Garrett Maho

Tony Da’ Memorial Award: Virgil Ortiz

Make Me Smile Youth Award: Aydrian Day

Margaret Tafoya Memorial Award: Chris Youngblood

Sarafina Tafoya Memorial Award: Sharon Naranjo-Garcia

Mela Youngblood Memorial Award: Chris Youngblood

Oqwa Pi Memorial Award for Excellence in Traditional Pueblo Painting: Rosie Yellowhair

Anita Da’ Memorial Award to Encourage the Work of a Young Potter: Xavian Suazo

IAIA Alumni Award: Terran Last Gun (Piikani/Blackfeet)

Native American Art Magazine Award of Excellence: Jason Garcia


More Stories Like This

Eighth Generation Blanket Featured on Cover of British Vogue in October
Here’s What's Going On in Indian Country, September 21 —September 28
The Land That Carries Our Ancestors: Contemporary Art by Native Americans Exhibition Begins Sept. 22 at National Gallery of Art
Gifted Native American Flutist Robert Tree Cody Walks On
The Future is Now at Newly Opened Center for Native Futures in Chicago

Native News is free to read.

We hope you enjoyed the story you've just read. For the past dozen years, we’ve covered the most important news stories that are usually overlooked by other media. From the protests at Standing Rock and the rise of the American Indian Movement (AIM), to the ongoing epidemic of Murdered and Missing Indigenous People (MMIP) and the past-due reckoning related to assimilation, cultural genocide and Indian Boarding Schools.

Our news is free for everyone to read, but it is not free to produce. That’s why we’re asking you to make a donation to help support our efforts. Any contribution — big or small — helps.  Most readers donate between $10 and $25 to help us cover the costs of salaries, travel and maintaining our digital platforms. If you’re in a position to do so, we ask you to consider making a recurring donation of $12 per month to join the Founder's Circle. All donations help us remain a force for change in Indian Country and tell the stories that are so often ignored, erased or overlooked.

Donate to Native News Online today and support independent Indigenous journalism. Thank you. 

About The Author
Native News Online Staff
Author: Native News Online StaffEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Native News Online is one of the most-read publications covering Indian Country and the news that matters to American Indians, Alaska Natives and other Indigenous people. Reach out to us at [email protected].