Historic Day: Two American Indian Women Become Members of Congress

Rep. Deb Haaland (Laguna Pueblo and Rep. Sharice Davids (Ho-Chunk)

Breaking News 

Published January 3, 2019

WASHINGTON — In a history making moment, two American Indian women were sworn-in today, January 3, 2019, as members of Congress. Deb Haaland (Laguna Pueblo), from the 1st Congressional District in New Mexico and Sharice Davids (Ho-Chunk), from the 3rd Congressional District in Kansas, became the first two American Indian women ever to become members of Congress.

The 116th Congress convened just after noon today. The new Congress changes to the control of the House of Representatives from Republican control to Democratic control. Both Rep. Haaland and Rep. Davids are Democrats.

The two American Indian women join two American Indian men as members of Congress. Tom Cole (R-Oklahoma – 4th Congressional District) is a tribal citizen of the Chickasaw Nation) and Markwayne Mullin (R-Oklahoma – 2nd Congressional District) is a tribal citizen of the Cherokee Nation. Both men were reelected in November.

Related: Two American Indian Women Shatter the Glass Ceiling into Congress; Will be Sworn in Today


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. Cecelia Rose LaPointe 2 weeks ago
  2. lana freeman 2 weeks ago
  3. Mike Hamper 2 weeks ago
  4. Duncan A McDonald 2 weeks ago
  5. Tracy Graber 2 weeks ago
    • Bill S 1 week ago
      • Ellen 1 week ago
  6. Karin 2 weeks ago
  7. Kenny Frost 2 weeks ago
    • Norm 2 weeks ago
  8. Gloria APN 2 weeks ago
  9. Gretchen Griswold 2 weeks ago
  10. Kenneth M Koepke 2 weeks ago
    • Norm 1 week ago
    • Gretchen Griswold 1 week ago
    • Gretchen Griswold 1 week ago
  11. Z 1 week ago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com