“The Saltworks of Sequoyah” Exhibit Opens August 3

Learn how Sequoyah, creator of the Cherokee Syllabary, ended up running his own salt operation and how salt in the 1830s was manufactured

Published July 26, 2018

Special exhibit runs through Jan. 31 at Sequoyah’s Cabin Museum in Sallisaw

SALLISAW, Okla. – Learn about the history of saltworks operations and their impact throughout time at a new exhibit at Sequoyah’s Cabin Museum in Sallisaw.

While Sequoyah is known and honored for being a legendary statesman and for his work creating the Cherokee syllabary, he also ran a saltworks operation on Lee’s Creek near present day Sallisaw.

“The Saltworks of Sequoyah” provides details about Sequoyah’s operation including how salt in the 1830s was manufactured and the events that led to Sequoyah running his own operation.

The exhibit opens Aug. 3 and runs through January 31, 2019.

Sequoyah’s Cabin Museum is located at Highway 101, 7 miles east of Highway 59 in Sallisaw. It is open Tuesday – Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The museum features the original log cabin constructed by Sequoyah in 1829 and welcomes more than 12,000 visitors each year. It was designated as a National Historic Landmark in 1966 and a National Literary Landmark in 2006. The homestead includes a one-room cabin and nearly 200 acres. The museum also features large displays that share the story of Sequoyah, his development of the Cherokee syllabary and the Cherokee language today. Additional displays showcase the history of the Cherokee Old Settlers, Cherokee Nation post-removal and the Cherokee Nation today.

For information on Cherokee Nation Cultural Tourism, including museum operations, please call (877) 779-6977 or visit www.VisitCherokeeNation.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com