Speak Your Truth: #NotInvisible Twitter Chat on 10/8

Published October 4, 2019

The onslaught of violence against Native American women and girls speaks to the invisibility of Native people in contemporary society and in mainstream systems of justice. At the same time, while public perceptions commonly paint Native people as ‘violent,’ more than 97 percent of crimes against American Indian and Alaska Native female victims are committed by non-Natives.

Disrespectful, violent language describing Native people and tribal communities – including stereotypes and slurs – is particularly harmful, silencing Native voices and narratives, and impeding the human rights to justice and safety for Native people. Join the #NotInvisible DVAM Twitter Chat and rise up against violent language and misperceptions of tribal nations and Native people. We refuse to be invisible. We are #NotInvisible.

WHAT: #NotInvisible: Native DVAM Twitter Chat

WHEN: Tuesday, October 8 at 2-3pm CT (11am-12pm AKT, 12-1pm PT, 1-2pm MT, 3-4pm ET)

WHO: Community members, advocates, supportive partners, organizations, and allies

WHY: In honor of Domestic Violence Awareness Month, join us to talk about how disrespectful thoughts, violent language, stereotypes, and slurs contribute to the mistreatment and dehumanization of Native Americans, fueling domestic violence and sexual assault in Indian country.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
One Response
  1. Kellie Hilton 1 month ago
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com