Senate Committee on Indian Affairs to Hold Legislative Hearing on Five Bills

Capitol BuildingWASHINGTON – On Wednesday, April 2, 2014, at 2:30 p.m. – EDT, Senator Jon Tester (D-Montana will preside over a U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs legislative hearing on five bills:

  • S. 1474, the Alaska Safe Families and Villages Act of 2013;
  • S. 1570, the Indian Health Service Advance Appropriations Act of 2013;
  • S. 1574, the Indian Employment, Training and Related Services Consolidation Act of
  • 2013;
  • S. 1622, the Alyce Spotted Bear and Walter Soboleff Commission on Native Children
  • Act; and
  • S. 2160, the Native American Children’s Safety Act.

Prior to the legislative hearing, the Committee will hold a business meeting to consider the following legislation:

  • S. 161, to extend the Federal recognition to the Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians of Montana, and for other purposes
  • S. 1074, to extend Federal recognition to the Chickahominy Indian Tribe, the Chickahominy Indian Tribe-Eastern Division, the Upper Mattaponi Tribe, the Rappahannock Tribe, Inc., the Monacan Indian Nation, and the Nansemond Indian Tribe; and
  • S. 1219, to authorize the Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians Water Rights Settlement, and for other purposes

The business meeting is not webcast.



A Committee business meeting and legislative hearing


2:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 2, 2014


628 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Live video and witness testimony will be provided at


Panel I:

THE HONORABLE BYRON L. DORGAN, United States Senator (Ret.), and Founder and Chairman, Center for Native American Youth at the Aspen Institute, Washington, DC

Panel II:

THE HONORABLE KEVIN WASHBURN, Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs, U.S.Department of the Interior, Washington, DC

THE HONORABLE LILLIAN SPARKS, Commissioner, Administration of Native Americans, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, DC

Panel III:

MS. NATASHA SINGH, Tribal Judge, Stevens Village, Stevens Village, Alaska

MS. MARGARET ZIENTEK, Co-Chairperson, P.L. 102-477 Tribal Workgroup, Shawnee, Oklahoma

THE HONORABLE LEANDER R. MCDONALD, Chairman, Spirit Lake Dakota Nation, Fort Totten, North Dakota


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :