Native Women Advocate Sarah Deer to be Inducted into National Women’s Hall of Fame

Sarah Deer

Published March 12, 2019

Celebrating Extraordinary Women’s Contributions

SENECA FALLS, N.Y. — In celebration of the 100th year anniversary of Women’s Right to Vote in NY,
The National Women’s Hall of Fame will host a weekend celebrating the achievements of American Women in the birthplace of the Women’s Rights movement in the United States.

The induction ceremony will be held on September 14, 2019 at the magnificent del Lago Resort & Casino, located outside of Seneca Falls, New York.

Sarah Deer, citizen of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, a longtime advocate for Native women has been chosen among this year’s inductees. Deer is a professor at the University of Kansas and an engaged activist for indigenous women. Ending violence against women is her life’s goal. A lawyer by trade and an advocate in practice, Deer’s scholarship and public policy work focuses on the intersection of federal Indian law and victims’ rights, using indigenous feminist principles as a framework. Her work to end violence against Native women has received national recognition from the American Bar Association and theDepartment of Justice as well as a MacArthur fellowship.

The 2019 inductees were nominated by the public, judged by an interdisciplinary team of experts across the nominees’ fields, and selected for their invaluable contributions to American Society in the areas of the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy, and science.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 and is the nation’s oldest membership organization and museum dedicated to honoring and celebrating the achievements of distinguished American women. In pursuit of its mission of “Showcasing Great Women…Inspiring All,” the National Women’s Hall of Fame honors the women of the past, relates the history of women’s struggles, prepares the women of the future and serves as the voice celebrating the value of women.

Here is the list of the 2019 inductees:

Gloria Allred
Angela Davis
Sarah Deer
Jane Fonda
Nicole Malachowski
Rose O’Neill
Louise Slaughter
Sonia Sotomayor
Laurie Spiegel
Flossie Wong-Staal

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
No Responses
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :