The 17th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Announces Festival Award Winners 

Published October 23, 2017

TORONTO – On Sunday, October 22, 2017 at imagineNATIVE’s Awards Presentation at the TIFF Bell Lightbox, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury considered film, video, audio, and digital media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists to select winners in over a dozen categories with over $42,500 in cash prizes and in-kind services.

The recipient of the Best Dramatic Feature Award is Sweet Country by Warwick Thornton. Sweet Country will screen again at 9pm on Sunday, October 22 at the TIFF Bell Lightbox for the Award Winners Screening.

The 18th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival took place October 18-22, 2017 in Toronto, Ontario.
The 2017 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:The Ellen Monague Award for Best Youth Work
RAE Directed by Kawennáhere Devery Jacobs
$500 cash award presented by imagineNATIVEBest Audio Work
Elcrys by Michael Wilson
$500 cash award presented imagineNATIVE

Best Dramatic Feature
Sweet Country Directed by Warwick Thornton
$2,000 cash award presented by Bell Media

Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
Morit Elena Morit Directed by Inga-Wiktoria Påve & Anders Sunna
$2,000 cash award presented by The CJ Foundation

Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Short Work
I Will Always Love You Kingen Directed by Amanda Kernell
$500 cash award presented by V-Tape

The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work (Long-Form)
Indictment: The Crimes of Shelly Chartier Directed by Shane Belcourt & Lisa Jackson
$2,000 cash award presented by TVO

Best Documentary Short
Lelum’ Directed Asia Youngman
$1,000 cash award by CBC Docs

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Three Thousand by Asinnajaq
$1,000 cash award presented by imagineNATIVE & Kent Monkman

Best Digital Media Work
Thunderbird Strike by Elizabeth LaPensée
$500 cash award presented imagineNATIVE

Best Indigenous Language Work
Bowhead Whale Hunting With My Ancestors Directed by Carol Kunnuk and Zacharias Kunuk
$1,000 cash award presented by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Tina Keeper
$1,500 cash award presented by ACTRA National, ACTRA Performers’ Rights Society, and generous individual donations

Special Jury Prize – Sun Jury
Sunday Fun Day Directed by Dianna Fuemana

Special Jury Prize – Moon Jury
Birth of a Family Directed by Tasha Hubbard

The Web Series Live Pitch Competition
Spectrum by Darcy Waite and Madison Thomas
$30,000 in cash and in kind prizes presented by APTN

The Audience Choice Award, with a $1,000 cash award presented by Air Canada, will be announced later this week.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :