Iroquois Nationals Announce Player Roster for 2014 Men’s World Field Lacrosse Championship in Denver

Iroquois Nationals Gearing up for 2014 Men's Men’s World Field Lacrosse Championships in Denver, Colorado.

Iroquois Nationals Gearing up for 2014 Men’s Men’s World Field Lacrosse Championships in Denver, Colorado.

ONONDAGA NATION – The Iroquois Nationals are proud to post a spring roster of players that will make up its 2014 Iroquois Nationals field lacrosse team. The finalized version of the team roster is to be announced in June, as the Iroquois Nationals prepare for competition at the 2014 Men’s World Field Lacrosse Championships in Denver, Colorado.

This announcement is released from the Iroquois Nationals headquarters at T’shaHonnonyadakhwa Arena, Onondaga Nation, and the home of the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships.

The Iroquois Nationals roster is comprised of stand-out athletes with experience in both the professional lacrosse leagues, as well as the collegiate game. There are a number of professional All-Stars along with college All-Americans vying for positions with hopes of representing their nation in the 2014 World Field Lacrosse Championships in Denver, Colorado, July 10-19th.

Additionally, the Iroquois Nationals lacrosse program officially announces the team’s management and coaching staff for the 2014 World Lacrosse Championships.

“We have put together a very committed and knowledgeable group of coaches focused on taking this team to the next level”, said Gewas Schindler, general manager of the 2014 Iroquois Nationals men’s field lacrosse team.

The team management falls under the direction of Schindler (Haudenosaunee Oneida Nation) along with assistant general manager Ansley Jemison (Haudenosaunee Seneca Nation) who will both oversee the planning, scheduling and general operations of the team.

The coaching staff is an experienced and veteran group led by head coach Steve Beville, associate head coach Cam Bomberry and assistant coaches Marc Van Arsdale, Mark Burnam, Jerome Thompson and Chris Doctor.

Steve Beville (Cortland State University) will serve in his first FIL Men’s World Lacrosse Championships as the head coach of the Nationals. Coach Beville’s initial experience in working with the Nationals came when he was an assistant coach with bronze medal-winning U19 Iroquois Nationals that competed in Turku, Finland, in 2012. Coach Beville has a tremendous amount of experience in the field game as well as the international game. He has surrounded himself with a great coaching staff and will be a great leader for the program.

Cam Bomberry (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation) is a familiar face within the program. As an alumnus of the Iroquois Nationals he has played many roles as both a player and coach. Cam will serve as the 2014 Iroquois Nationals associate head coach. He began his career with the program in 1990, competing in the first official world championships for the Nationals. Cam played in four consecutive FIL Men’s World Field Lacrosse Championships, along with the 2003 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships. He also has won an NLL championship with the Rochester Knighthawks. Cam served as the Head Coach of the 2010 Iroquois Nationals world field lacrosse team.

Mark Burnam (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation) is a 2014 Iroquois Nationals coach with primary responsibilities working with the defense. He played for the Iroquois Nationals from 1990 to 2006 competing in five consecutive World Championships. Mark also played in the 2003 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships. Mark has over 30 years of coaching experience, as well as playing international and professional lacrosse for 16 years.

Jerome Thompson (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation) is another 2014 Iroquois Nationals Coach who is alumnus of the team, having served as both a player and coach starting with the program in Australia in 1990. Jerome has years of lacrosse experience at many levels of lacrosse and will work primarily with the face-offs and midfielders.

Mark Van Arsdale (University of Virginia associate head coach) is in his 13th year as the top assistant coach under Dom Starsia. Marc is in his eighth season as associate head coach. One of the outstanding teachers in the college game, he is heavily involved in all aspects of the program and serves as the team’s offensive coordinator. A master offensive tactician, Van Arsdale has overseen some of the most potent offenses in school history.

Chris Doctor (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation, Penn State) enters his fourth season as an assistant coach with the Penn State men’s lacrosse team during the 2013-14 academic year. Doctor was pivotal to Penn State’s 2013 success as the Lions went 12-5 with a CAA regular season crown and a NCAA tournament appearance. Doctor runs the faceoff crew for the Nittany Lions.

Jason Johnson (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation) serves as Assistant Coach with the Rochester KnightHawks and Hamilton Nationals and will serve as the team’s head scout.

Head Trainer: Marty Ward Sr. (Haudenosaunee Onondaga Nation) – AHL Hockey trainer for 25 years, and Onondaga Nation Redhawks trainer for the last 10 seasons.

Trainers: Allen Sonny Shenandoah (Haudenosaunee Onondaga Nation), Onondaga Nation Redhawks trainer. Tony Pineda (Haudenosaunee Tuscarora Nation). Kaweiente George (Haudenosaunee Mohawk Nation, Stanford Medical University).

The self-esteem and self-discipline are essential elements for every international team but a combination of representing the originators of the game of lacrosse, and the pride representing all indigenous athletes will enable the Iroquois Nationals to be strong to meet the mental and physical preparations required of a world class team.

Iroquois Nationals Board of Directors

Twitter: @iroquoisnatslax
Facebook: Iroquois Nationals Lacrosse
Instagram: @IroquoisNatsLax

The 2014 Iroquois Nationals 44-man roster:

Cody Jamieson
Brett Bucktooth
Roger Vyse
Miles Thompson
Ty Thompson
Seth Oakes
James Cathers

Jeremy Thompson
Jeff Shattler
Craig Point
Lyle Thompson
Johnny Powless
Mike Lazore
Alex “Kedo” Hill
Randy Staats
Adam “Abby” Bomberry
Jerome “Hiana” Thompson
Zed Williams
Frank Brown
Anthony Patterson
Brendan Bomberry
Zach Miller
Vaughn Harris
Neal Hopps
Rod Squire
Zach Williams

Sid Smith
Marshall Abrams
Tom Montour
Taylor Smoke
Kyle Isaacs
Jesse Jimerson
Oakley Thomas
Myan Adams
Travis Hill
Isiah Kicknosaway
Tyson Bomberry
Jr. Bucktooth
Billy O’Brien

Marty Ward
Warren Hill
Jeff White
Spencer Lyons
Trey Adams

Editor’s Note: This article first appeared in

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :