Trump Nominates Energy Transfer Partners Board Member Rick Perry to be Secretary of Energy

Energy Transfer Partners board member Rick Perry nominated by Trump to be Energy secretary.

Energy Transfer Partners board member Rick Perry nominated by Trump to be Energy secretary.

Published December 13, 2016

WASHINGTON — Former Texas Governor Rick Perry has been nominated to be the U.S. Secretary of Energy by President-elect Donald Trump. Perry is a member of the board of directors of Energy Transfer Partners, the owner of the Dakota Access pipeline (DAPL).

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe and hundreds of other American Indian tribes oppose the construction of the DAPL.

“All of our sources of energy in this country will be important. If America is going to be energy secure, we’re going to have to have infrastructure. I happen to think it’s important for us as a country to have these sources of energy,” Perry said in 2015 when asked about the DAPL.

Perry was among 17 candidates to run for the 2016 Republican presidential nomination, which was won by Donald Trump. Kelcy Lee Warren, CEO of Energy Transfer Partners, was a donor to the Perry short-lived presidential campaign.

Throughout his career, Perry has been vocal about the need to deregulate government control over industry. Perry also is a climate change denier.

U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich (D-New Mexico) reacted to the nomination:

“The Department of Energy is New Mexico’s economic lifeblood, and the people who work at our DOE and NNSA Labs are among our nation’s greatest intellectual assets. President-elect Trump has signaled his blatant hostility to the Department and the workforce at our National Labs by nominating someone who has proposed eliminating this entire agency. I’m not confident that Rick Perry is fully cognizant of the role that DOE plays in keeping our nuclear deterrent safe, secure and reliable. He is utterly unqualified to lead this critical agency.”

Perry must be approved the U.S. Senate to become Secretary of Energy.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. richard smith 2 years ago
  2. Frank Mancuso 2 years ago
  3. Jeane LaRance 2 years ago
  4. INDIGENOUS ANGEL 2 years ago
WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :