State of Indian Nations Address Set for Monday, Feb. 11th: NCAI President Jefferson Keel and U.S. Representative Deb Haaland

Last Year’s sign at the Newseum in Washington D.C. – Native News Online photo by Levi Rickert

Published February 10, 2019

NCAI President Jefferson Keel.

WASHINGTON — Each year since 2003, the president of the National Congress of American Indians has delivered the State of Indian Nations address to members of Congress, government officials, tribal leaders and citizens, and the American public. The address outlines the goals of tribal leaders, the opportunities for success and advancement of Native peoples, and priorities to advance our nation-to-nation relationship with the United States.

On Monday, February 11, 2019, NCAI President Jefferson Keel will deliver the 17th Annual State of Indian Nations live from the Knight Studios at the Newseum in Washington, DC. 


Rep. Deb Haaland

After the State of Indian Nations address, the Congressional Response will be made by U.S. Representative Deb Haaland (D-N.M), who is a tribal citizen of the Laguna Pueblo.

2019 State of Indian Nations from NCAI on Vimeo.

Directly following the State of Indian Nations address, the 2019 Executive Council Winter Session will begin Monday afternoon. Held at the Capital Hilton in Washington, D.C., the conference will tackle key issues facing Native American communities while providing tactical solutions primarily through legislative and policy planning and dialogue with the Administration and Congress.

The three-day event features tribal leaders and speakers from the White House, government agencies, and Congress, including:

·         Congressman Tom Cole (OK)

·         Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM)

·         Senator Tina Smith (MN)

·         Senator Tom Udall (NM)

·         Jeannie Hovland, Commissioner, Administration for Native Americans

·         Daniel Kowalski, Counselor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Treasury

·         Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (CA)

·         Congressman Raúl Grijalva (AZ)

·         Senator John Hoeven (ND)

·         Congressman Will Hurd (TX)

·         Congresswoman Betty McCollum (MN)

·         Congresswoman Sharice Davids (KS)

·         Ben Carson, Secretary, Department of Housing and Urban Development

·         Senator Jeff Merkley (OR)

·         Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK)

·         Congressman Tom O’Halleran (AZ)

·         David Bernhardt, Acting Secretary, Department of the Interior

·         Tara Sweeney, Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs, Department of the Interior

·         Congressman Derek Kilmer (WA)

·         Elaine Chao, Secretary, Department of Transportation

·         Alex Azar, Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
No Responses
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :