Spokane and Turtle Moutain Indian Reservations Named Promise Zones


spokanereservationNine new Promise Zones join 13 others to expand economic opportunity in distressed areas  

Published June 6, 2016

WASHINGTON – Two American Indian reservations were named as Promise Zones today by the Obama administration. The two reservations are the Spokane Indian Reservation in Washington state and the Turtle Mountain Indian Reservevation, based in North Dakota. The two reservations are part of the final nine Promise Zones across the United States.

The Promise Zone Initiative are chosen on high poverty, areas in the select urban, rural and tribal communities. Through the Promise Zone Initiative, the Federal government will work strategically with local leaders to boost economic activity and job growth, improve educational opportunities, reduce crime and leverage private investment to improve the quality of life in these vulnerable areas.

Turtle Mountain Indian Reservation

Turtle Mountain Indian Reservation

The other selected Promise Zones announced on Monday include, Atlanta, Georgia; Nashville, Tennessee; Evansville, Indiana; South Los Angeles, California; San Diego, California; Southwest Florida Regional Planning Commission and Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Secretary Julián Castro traveled to Atlanta to make the announcement while U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the new Promise Zone in Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico on Friday.  In addition, a host of other senior Administration officials made individual announcements in the other Promise Zones.

“Promise Zones bring the power of partnership to a whole new level as we seek to bring opportunity to neighborhoods long locked out of their area’s prosperity,” said HUD Secretary Castro.  “As a former mayor from a city that includes a Promise Zone, I know just how powerful these collaborations are when it comes to building stronger, economically vital neighborhoods.”

Background on Promise Zones:

Today’s newly designated Promise Zones join 13 others that President Obama designated in 2014 and 2015.  These Promise Zones include targeted neighborhoods in the following communities:

  1. San Antonio, Texas
  2. Los Angeles, California
  3. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  4. Southeastern Kentucky Highlands
  5. The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
  6. Camden, New Jersey
  7. Hartford, Connecticut
  8. Indianapolis, Indiana
  9. Minneapolis, Minnesota
  10. Sacramento, California
  11. St. Louis/St. Louis County, Missouri
  12. Pine Ridge Indian Reservation of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, South Dakota
  13. The South Carolina Low Country

In Choctaw Nation, in March 2016, a Los Angeles-based company secured $21 million in New Markets Tax Credits to build an environmentally sustainable steel manufacturing facility in the Promise Zone. The mill will support approximately 300 new jobs in the region.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. Richard Smith 4 years ago
  2. Lena Toledo 4 years ago
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com