Senate Resolution Recognizing Tribal Colleges Unanimously Approved

Capital Building

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Heidi Heitkamp and John Hoeven today announced their resolution recognizing the important work done by tribal colleges and universities has been unanimously approved by the Senate. The resolution, cosponsored by a bipartisan coalition of 17 Senators, designates the week beginning November 18, 2013 as National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week.

The resolution was adopted as tribal leaders from North Dakota and across the country arrived in the nation’s capitol for the White House Tribal Nations Conference. Thousands of North Dakotans enroll at the state’s five tribal colleges: Turtle Mountain Community College, Fort Berthold Community College, United Tribes Technical College, Sitting Bull College and Cankdeska Cikana Community College.

“We are pleased the Senate came together to adopt our resolution recognizing the importance of tribal colleges and universities in North Dakota and around the country,” Heitkamp and Hoeven said.  “Tribal colleges and universities provide crucial higher education opportunities to Native Americans, preparing them to succeed in wide-range of careers.

Next week will be an excellent opportunity for us to raise awareness about the value of these institutions and how they can help so many Native Americans grow and succeed.”

Tribal colleges and universities are operated on 75 campuses across the country, serving individuals from more than 250 federally recognized tribes. They provide higher education opportunities in some of the poorest and isolated areas of the country. In addition to officially designating next week National Tribal Colleges and Universities Week, the resolution calls on Americans to show their support with appropriate ceremonies, activities, and programs.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :