Secretary Jewell to Deliver Remarks at 2015 White House Tribal Nations Conference


President Barack Obama

President Obama at previous White House Tribal Conference

White House Tribal Nations Conference

President Obama hosts 7th-annual Conference to continue Cabinet-level nation-to-nation engagement with tribal leaders

WASHINGTON – On Thursday, November 5, 2015, U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell, Deputy Secretary Michael L. Connor and Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs Kevin K. Washburn will join President Obama, other cabinet Secretaries, and leaders from the 566 federally recognized tribes at the 7th annual White House Tribal Nations Conference.

Interior Secretary Sally Jewel Presided over 2013 Tribal Nations ConferenceSecretary Jewell will deliver opening remarks to kick off the Conference and will then join one of three town hall sessions with tribal leaders. Later in the day, Secretary Jewell will also lead a panel discussion. Deputy Secretary Mike Connor will participate in a discussion focused on environment and natural resources, and Assistant Secretary Washburn will co-moderate the Protecting and Advancing Nation-to Nation Relations: Tribal Sovereignty, Self-Governance, and Self-Determination breakout session.

The White House Tribal Nations Conference convenes leaders from the 566 federally recognized tribes to interact directly with high-level federal government officials and members of the White House Council on Native American Affairs. The Council, which is chaired by Secretary Jewell and includes the heads of more than 20 federal departments and agencies, works to improve interagency coordination and expand efforts to leverage federal programs and resources available to tribal communities.

WHO: Sally Jewell, U.S. Secretary of the Interior
Michael Connor, U.S. Deputy Secretary of the Interior
Kevin Washburn, Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs
Hilary C. Tompkins, Interior Solicitor
Other Interior officials
WHAT: 2015 White House Tribal Nations Conference
WHEN: Thursday, November 5, 2015
8:30 a.m. EST – Opening session with Secretary Jewell’s remarks
1:00 p.m. EDT – Arm chair session #1 with Secretary Jewell
2:30 p.m. EDT – Arm chair session #3 with Deputy Secretary Connor
4:15 p.m. EDT – President Obama delivers remarks
WHERE: Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center
1300 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
One Response
WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :