Sara Garland Joins the Center for Native American Youth Board

Sara Garland

Sara Garland

WASHINGTON –– Former US Senator Byron Dorgan announced today that Sara Garland will serve on the board of advisors for the Center for Native American Youth (CNAY). Garland, a former Chief of Staff in the US Senate and Staff Director for the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, has been a longtime advocate for Native Americans in both the public and private sectors. Garland will bring decades of policy experience, as well as significant connections to important Native and children’s organizations and a network of influential decision-makers, which will all greatly benefit the CNAY’s efforts to improve the lives of Native American youth.

“Sara’s experience on Capitol Hill and expert knowledge of Indian policy will be invaluable to the Center for Native American Youth’s policy advocacy and work to raise national awareness of the needs facing our youngest First Americans,” Senator Dorgan remarked.

Garland joins other prominent board members Tom Daschle, former US Senate Majority Leader; Lisa Murkowski, US Senator; Tom Brokaw, broadcast journalist, as well as three Native American youth members from tribal communities in North Dakota, Alaska and New Mexico. A full list of the Board of Advisors members is provided below.

Garland, a native North Dakotan, worked in Washington, DC and on Capitol Hill for four decades. In both government and non-government positions, she has a long history of working with Native Americans. Prior to serving as the Staff Director of the Senate Indian Affairs Committee, she was the founder and principal of a government affairs consulting company that represented a number of tribal clients, including the nation’s tribal colleges. During her time on Capitol Hill, she was the Chief of Staff to Senator Kent Conrad and a Legislative Assistant to the late Senator Quentin Burdick.

“Working with tribes and tribal communities was always a highlight of my time working in the Senate. I am excited that I can continue this important work as a board member for the Center for Native American Youth,” said Sara Garland. “Senator Dorgan is an inspiring leader and advocate for Native Americans and I am delighted to join his effort.”

CNAY works to shine a national spotlight on challenges and successes facing young American Indians and drive new resources to priority issues, including teen suicide prevention, ending substance abuse, and improving educational opportunities. CNAY has worked to develop meaningful partnerships with tribal leaders, parents and children, through its over 75 roundtables across 17 states.

CNAY’s Board of Advisors serves in an advisory capacity. Former Senator Byron Dorgan serves as chair, and board members participate in various advocacy, policy development, youth inspiration, and resource building activities. The Champions for Change, youth participating in CNAY’s leadership initiative, comprise a youth advisory board.

The Center for Native American Youth was created by Senator Dorgan who was Chairman of the US Senate Committee on Indian Affairs from 2007 – 2011. Dorgan donated $1 million of excess campaign funds in February 2011 to establish the organization, which is housed at the Aspen Institute in Washington, DC.

Members of the Board

US Senator Byron L. Dorgan (ret.)
Board Members
David Anderson, founder, Famous Dave’s Restaurant; former assistant secretary – Indian Affairs, US Department of the Interior

Allison Binney, partner, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; former staff director and chief counsel, US Senate Indian Affairs Committee

Tom Brokaw, special correspondent and former anchor, NBC Nightly News

Lucy Calautti, senior advisor, Baker Hostetler LLP

Brian Cladoosby, president, National Congress of American Indians; chairman, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community

Jacoby Ellsbury, center fielder/left fielder, New York Yankees

Sara Garland, former chief of staff to Senator Kent Conrad; former staff director for Senate Committee on Indian Affairs

Pam Gulleson, advisor to the president of the North Dakota Farmers Union; former chief of staff to Senator Byron Dorgan

Phil Jackson, 11-time championship-winning National Basketball Association head coach

Hattie Kauffman, national news correspondent, CBS’ The Early Show

Jefferson Keel, lt. governor, Chickasaw Nation; former president, National Congress of American Indians

Sam McCracken, general manager, Native American Business, Nike, Inc.; chairman, Nike N7

Robert McGhee, treasurer, Poarch Band of Creek Indians

US Senator Lisa Murkowski (R – Alaska)

US Senator Gordon Smith (ret.), president, National Association of Broadcasters

Ernie Stevens, Jr., chairman, National Indian Gaming Association

Patty Talahongva, former president of the Native American Journalists Association

W. Richard West, founding director, Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian
Youth Board Members
Megan Gregory, Organized Village of Kake (Alaska)

Dana Lee Jetty, Spirit Lake Tribe (North Dakota)

Coloradas Mangas, Mescalero Apache Tribe (New Mexico)



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. Adelina Defender 6 years ago
  2. Terri Fields 6 years ago
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :