NCAI Congratulates Tribal Nations in Virginia on Federal Recognition

The Rappahannock Tribe is one of six new federal recognized tribes

Published January 31, 2018

WASHINGTON – The National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) congratulates the Chickahominy, the Eastern Chickahominy, the Upper Mattaponi, the Rappahannock, the Monacan, and the Nansemond tribal nations on the recent passage of H.R. 984, the Thomasina E. Jordan Indian Tribes of Virginia Federal Recognition Act of 2017. President Trump signed the bill into law on January 29, 2018, after being introduced by Rep. Wittman in February of 2017 and receiving strong support from Senators Kaine, Warner, and Virginia’s Congressional delegation.

“This is an important moment in U.S. history,” said NCAI President Jefferson Keel. “As the U.S. government continues to correct the mistakes of the past, we look forward to seeing the federal government honor its trust obligations to these six tribal nations in Virginia and all tribal nations.”

After many years of hard work by these six tribal nations in Virginia, there are now 573 federally recognized tribes recognized by the U.S. government. This status provides for a government-to-government relationship between the six nations and the U.S. Government, and endows them with greater ability to create and enforce their own laws and manage their lands and resources.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :