Navajo Nation Goes to the Polls for Primary Election; 18 Vying for President

Navajo Times | Arlyssa Becenti
As Melvin Harrison, chairman of the Navajo Board of Election Supervisors, left, chuckles with board members and staff, board member Watona Kellywood picks a name from a box. The box was circulated around the table until all 18 slots were filled in with the names of candidates for president.

Published August 28, 2018

WINDOW ROCK — With 18 candidates running for the office of president of the Navajo Nation, Navajo tribal citizens go the primary polls today across the Navajo Indian Reservation.

Navajo Nation President Russell Begaye, who is seeking a second term, is among the 18. Also, running is former Navajo President Joe Shirley, Jr., who held the position from 2003-2011.

Voting polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. across the Navajo Nation to allow registered Navajo voters to vote for the positions of Navajo Nation presidency, council delegates, Board of Education, and Board of Election Supervisors. Some chapters will have special elections to fill specific positions as well.

The state of Arizona will also hold its primary elections on Tuesday. Utah and New Mexico held their primary elections this past June. The general election for the Navajo Nation and all states will be held on November 6.

During Thursday’s Navajo Board of Election Supervisors meeting, board members drew names, setting the positions for the candidates as they will appear on the ballot for the Aug. 28 Primary Election.

The order is as follows:

  1. Benny Bahe
  2. Russell Begaye
  3. Tom Chee
  4. Jonathan Nez
  5. Calvin Lee Jr.
  6. Joe Shirley Jr.
  7. Vincent H. Yazzie
  8. Rex Lee Jim
  9. Norman Patrick Brown
  10. Trudie Jackson
  11. Shawn Redd
  12. Alton Joe Sheperd
  13. Emily Ellison
  14. Tom Tso
  15. Kevin Cody
  16. Hope MacDonald Lonetree
  17. Nick X. Taylor
  18. Dineh Benally

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :