Incoming Chair of Senate Committee on Indian Affairs Wants Water Protectors to Leave Camp

Eviction Day – December 5, 2016 – Water Protectors were not leaving. Native News Online photo by Levi Rickert

Published December 22, 2016

WASHINGTON – The incoming chairman of the U.S. Committee on Indian Affairs, Senator John Hoeven (R – North Dakota) wants the water protectors fighting against the Dakota Access pipeline to leave the encampments.

Hoeven will replace Senator John Barrasso, who chaired the Senate Committee for Indian Affairs in the 114th Congress. Hoeven is in favor of the Dakota Access pipeline. His position in support of the pipeline is contrary to hundreds of American Indian tribes across Indian Country that adamantly oppose the pipeline’s destruction of sacred sites and the danger it brings to water. 

Approximately 1,500 people are still living in the various Standing Rock encampments.

Sen. John Hoeven is pro-Dakota Access pipeline.

“We must all follow the rule of law for the safety of everyone and to protect everyone’s rights,” Hoeven said in his statement. “As fellow North Dakotans — both native and non-native — we need to work together to restore our long-standing good relationship.”

On December 6, 2016, Standing Rock Sioux Chairman Dave Archambault II asked the water protectors to leave the camps. His request came two days after the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers announced it would not grant an easement for the construction of the pipeline under the Missouri River.

Facing northern Plains blizzard conditions, veterans marched to the Backwater Bridge near the encampments. Native News Online photo by Levi Rickert



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. Paul Maher 3 years ago
  2. Joyce Bowen 3 years ago
  3. Jeane LaRance 3 years ago
  4. Michelle Shining Elk 3 years ago
  5. John Pierce 3 years ago
  6. Reggie George 3 years ago
  7. Gene 3 years ago
  8. Joyce pietryga 3 years ago
  9. Gene 3 years ago
  10. Michelle Shining Elk 3 years ago
  11. richard smith 3 years ago
    • Lena Toledo 3 years ago
  12. Janice E Mitich 3 years ago
  13. Bill Green 3 years ago
  14. Bill Green 3 years ago
  15. Marian Hennings 3 years ago
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :