Cocopah Council Sworn-In

Council member Edmund Domingues, Vice-Chairman J. Deal Begay, Jr., Chairwoman Sherry Cordova, Council member Rosa J. Long and Council member Irwin Twist.

Published July 31, 2018

SOMERTON, Ariz.  — Cocopah Tribal elections were held on July 13, 2018, with over 250 members turning out to cast their ballots. All five positions were open; Chairman, vice-chairman and three council members.

Chairwoman Sherry Cordova, as well as Vice-Chairman J. Deal Begay Jr. were both re-elected to their respective positions. Incumbents Edmund Domingues and Rosa J. Long were also both re-elected to their positions as council members. Irwin Twist, who served in previous years, was elected to the fifth position.

Carlos Pereya, who also served as a previous council member, sought all three positions on the council but was unsuccessful in his bid. Others that ran for council seats were (in the order of votes received) were Winnie Ortega, Verley Valenzuela Sr., Sharon Lujan and Cinnamen White.

Elections are held, per tribal constitution, every two years on the second Friday in July. The newly elected Tribal Council was sworn into office on Friday, July 27, 2018.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :