Cherokee Nation General Election Saturday, June 27

Voting Precinct MapEarly voting set for June 20, June 23-25 at Cherokee Nation Election Commission

TAHLEQUAH, OKLAHOMA — The Cherokee Nation will hold its general election Saturday, June 27, to elect the positions of Principal Chief, Deputy Principal Chief and eight Tribal Council seats. A total of 42 polling precincts will be open to voters across the tribe’s 14-county jurisdiction in northeast Oklahoma.

All voters have a say in the offices of Principal Chief and Deputy Principal Chief. The eight Tribal Council races up for grabs include District 1, District 3, District 6, District 8, District 12, District 13, District 14 and an at-large seat. Districts and polling places can be found on the accompanying Cherokee Nation voting precinct map.

In races with more than one candidate, the winner shall be declared if one candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff election will be held Saturday, July 25.

Early voting is also available at the Cherokee Nation Election Commission in Tahlequah. Early voting is available from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, June 20, and Tuesday, June 23, through Thursday, June 25. The Cherokee Nation Election Commission office is at 22116 S. Bald Hill Road in Tahlequah, about one-quarter mile east of the main tribal complex.

Citizens can hand deliver notarized absentee ballots Tuesday, June 23, through Saturday, June 27. Should a runoff election be necessary for the office of Principal Chief or any Tribal Council seats, citizens who requested an absentee ballot for the general election will be automatically mailed a runoff election ballot.

If citizens did not request an absentee ballot for the general election June 27, they may still request one for a possible runoff election. Requests for runoff election ballots must be received in the election commission office by Monday, June 29. The link to request a runoff absentee ballot is

Election Day polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the following locations. Any questions about registration or to find your polling place, call the election commission at 918-458-5899 or 800-353-2895.

Adair County

Bell – Bell Public School, Rt. 5 Box 4470, Stilwell, OK

Cave Springs – Lyons Community Association Building, 463101 E. 914 Road, Bunch, OK

Chewey – Illinois River Ranch Clubhouse, 63320 S. 4625 Road, Proctor, OK

Stilwell – Ozark Electric, 470479 Hwy. 51, Stilwell, OK

Westville – Westville Public Schools, 500 W. Chincapin, Westville, OK

Cherokee County

Briggs – Briggs Public School, 17210 S. 569 Road, Tahlequah, OK

Hulbert – Hulbert Community Building, 316 Rider Lane, Hulbert, OK

Keys – Keys Community Building, 19083 E. 840 Road, Park Hill, OK

Lowrey – Lowrey Fire Department, 9775 Hwy. 82 A, Tahlequah, OK

Tahlequah – Sequoyah High School, 17091 S. Muskogee Ave., Tahlequah, OK

Craig County

Vinita – Vinita Health Center, 27371 S. 4410 Road, Vinita, OK

Welch – Gateway Assembly of God Church, 440 W. 10th St., Welch, OK

Delaware County

Grove – Grove Community Center, 104 W. 3rd St., Grove, OK

Jay – Jay Senior Citizen Center, 816 S. Main St., Jay, OK

Kansas – Kansas Town Hall, 150 S. Cherokee, Kansas, OK

Kenwood – Kenwood Public School, 48625 S. 502 Road, Salina, OK

Mayes County

Locust Grove – Locust Grove Upper Elementary, 720 N. Hwy. 82, Locust Grove, OK

Pryor – St. Mark Catholic Church, 1507 S. Vann St., Pryor, OK

Salina – A-Mo Health Center, 900 N. Owen Walters Blvd., Salina, OK

Spavinaw – Spavinaw City Hall, 117 S. Main, Spavinaw, OK

Muskogee County

Fort Gibson – Fort Gibson Community Building, 200 W. Poplar, Fort Gibson, OK

Muskogee – Three Rivers Health Center, 1001 S. 41st St., Muskogee, OK

Warner – Warner Public School Event Center, 1301 N. Hwy. 64, Warner, OK

Nowata County

Nowata – Nowata Senior Citizen Center, 238 N. Maple St., Nowata, OK

South Coffeyville – South Coffeyville Community Building, 215 S. Oklahoma St., South Coffeyville, OK

Ottawa County

Afton – Afton Senior Citizen Center, 201 SW. 1st St., Afton, OK

Rogers County

Catoosa – Catoosa Public Library/Community Center, 105 E. Oak, Catoosa, OK

Chelsea – Boys & Girls Club of Chelsea, 119 N. Ash St., Chelsea, OK

Claremore – Rogers County Building, 416 S. Brady, Claremore, OK

Oologah – Oologah Assembly of God Church, 13462 S. Hwy. 169, Oologah, OK

Sequoyah County

Belfonte – Belfonte/Nicut Community Center, 474894 Hwy. 101, Muldrow, OK

Gore – Gore City Hall, 201 S. Main St., Gore, OK

Marble City – Marble City Town Hall, 120 A North Main, Marble City, OK

Muldrow – Cherokee Community Center, 603 N. Main, Muldrow, OK

Sallisaw – Cherokee Nation Housing Authority, 2260 W. Cherokee Ave., Sallisaw, OK

Sallisaw – Sallisaw United Methodist Church, 2100 McGee Drive, Sallisaw, OK

Vian – Vian Public Schools, 203 W. Hunter, Vian, OK

Tulsa County

Collinsville – Collinsville Public Library, 1223 W. Main, Collinsville, OK

Skiatook – Skiatook City Municipal Building, 220 S. Broadway St., Skiatook, OK

Tulsa – Tulsa Career Services Office, 10837 E. Marshall St. – Suite 101, Tulsa, OK

Wagoner County

Okay – Okay Senior Citizen Center, 3701 E. 75th St., Okay, OK

Washington County

Bartlesville – Keeler Heights Office, 1003 S. Virginia Ave., Bartlesville, OK


Absentee or walk-in only

Saturday, June 20, and Tuesday, June 23 – Thursday, June 25.

Cherokee Nation Election Commission office at 22116 S. Bald Hill Road in Tahlequah, approximately one-quarter mile east of the main tribal complex

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :