Cherokee Nation Foundation announces scholarship recipients for 2018-19 academic year

Published March 22, 2018

CNF awarding $210,000 in scholarships to 88 students

TAHLEQUAH – The Cherokee Nation Foundation announced today scholarship recipients for the 2018-19 academic school year. CNF is awarding $210,000 to 29 high school graduates and 59 current university students.

“We received a record number of applications this year and are thrilled to have the opportunity to support these students as they pursue their dreams of higher education,” said Janice Randall, executive director of Cherokee Nation Foundation. “Thanks to our loyal donors and support from Cherokee Nation administration and Tribal Council, we continue to advance our mission to provide educational opportunities to Cherokee students so that they can reach their full potential.”

Included in the awards were the first round of scholarship recipients benefiting from the organization’s Leave a Legacy endowment matching program. CNF launched the initiative in 2016 in an effort to create new opportunities for Cherokee youth and achieved their campaign goal in October 2017. With full support from their board of directors, CNF is continuing to matching qualifying donations as their funds allow.

Applications were evaluated based on academic achievement, community and culture involvement, and future plans to serve the Cherokee people.

Scholarship recipients are as follows:

Adair County

Morgan Grooms, Westville High School, Harold “Jiggs” Phillips Scholarship

Cherokee County

Aspen Ford, Sequoyah High School, James R. Upton Memorial Award

Mackenzie Hackworth, Sequoyah High School, Cherokee Scholars

Ryan Hembree, Tahlequah High School, Cherokee Scholars

Katelyn Morton, Sequoyah High School, Sequoyah High School Alumni Scholarship

Nicholas Neal, Northeastern State University, Anna Belle Mitchell Scholarship 

Sara Ryals, Northeastern State University, Cherokee Nation Businesses Scholarship

Garrett Tune, Sequoyah High School, James R. Upton Memorial Award

Mayes County

Abby James, Salina High School, Cherokee Scholars

Autumn Sinor, Chouteau- Mazie High School, Bill Rabbit Legacy Art Scholarship

Nowata County

Jeffrey Collier, Oklahoma Union High School, Perruzi Family Scholarship

Rogers County

Natalie Evans, Claremore High School, Cherokee Scholars

Lilly Hall, Inola High School, University of Tulsa/Cherokee Nation Foundation Scholarship

Riley Jensen, Claremore High School, Cherokee Scholars

Jackson Meisinger, Claremore High School, Cherokee Scholars

Kelcey Nees, Claremore High School, Cherokee Scholars

Laurel Reynolds, Claremore High School, Cherokee Scholars

Sequoyah Sandoval, Rogers State University, Brent and Janees Taylor RSU Business Scholarship

Sequoyah County

Caleb Armer, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

Erin Crawford, Carl Albert State College, Carl Albert State College Scholarship

Cade Floyd, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

Cassidy Floyd, Roland High School, Cherokee Scholars

Michelle Hughes, Northeastern State University, Audie Baker Memorial Scholarship

Emily Johnson, Oklahoma School of Science & Mathematics, Cherokee Scholars

Seth Sifuentes, Muldrow High School, Cherokee Scholars

Tulsa County

Marshall Berry, Jenks High School, Cherokee Scholars

Wallis Hatch, Jenks High School, Cherokee Scholars

Dante McCoy, Northeastern State University, Kenneth Comer Scholarship

At-Large District

Kaci Alvarado, Amarillo High School, Susan B. Agnew Leoser Scholarship

Nathan Auffet, Dundy Co. Statton High School, Oklahoma State University/Cherokee Nation Foundation Scholarship

Deanna DeValve, Oconomowoc High School, Cherokee Scholars

Jacey Hall, Home School, At-Large Tribal Council Award

Morgan Matthews, Farmington High School, At-Large Tribal Council Award

Kylee Osburn, Deer Creek High School, At-Large Tribal Council Award, Cherokee Scholars

Julia Sharum, Trinity High School, At-Large Tribal Council Award

Sean Sikora, Edison Preparatory School, At-Large Tribal Council Award, Cherokee Scholars

Christopher Taylor, Missouri State University, Cherokee Nation Businesses Scholarship

Cole Walker, Middle Park High School, At-Large Tribal Council Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :