Cherokee Nation Election Commission Certifies 2015 General Election Results

Principal Chief Bill John Baker

Principal Chief Bill John Baker

TAHLEQUAH, OKLAHOMA — The Cherokee Nation Election Commission certified the 2015 General Election results that have Principal Chief Bill John Baker and Deputy Chief S. Joe Crittenden winning reelection to their respective positions during a meeting Monday.

The eight Tribal Council races were also certified, which included current District 3 Tribal Councilor David Walkingstick and District 12 Tribal Councilor Dick Lay winning reelection. Other results include Rex Jordan, of Hulbert, winning the District 1 race; Shawn Crittenden, of Stilwell, winning the District 8 race; and former Tribal Councilor Buel Anglen, of Sperry, winning the District 13 race.

The District 6 and At-Large races will go to a run-off election on Saturday, July 25. Natalie Fullbright, who garnered 618 votes or 44 percent, will be opposed by Bryan Warner, who received 501 votes or 36 percent. Wanda Hatfield will face Betsy Swimmer in the At-Large race. Hatfield received 1,057 votes or 26 percent, while Swimmer earned 770 votes or 19 percent in Saturday’s election.

In District 14 of Rogers and Tulsa counties, candidates William Pearson and Keith Austin were separated by one vote after Election Commission officials tabulated challenge ballots and the results showed Pearson with 534 and Austin with 533. Candidates have until Wednesday, July 1, to request a recount.

For a full list of the 2015 General Election results, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :