Cherokee Nation Chief, Deputy Chief Re-elected Unofficial Voting Results Show

Principal Chief Bill John Baker

Principal Chief Bill John Baker

TAHLEQUAH, OKLAHOMA — Nearly 20,000 Cherokee Nation citizens turned out to the polls and elected Principal Chief Bill John Baker to another four-year term, according to unofficial 2015 General Election voting results.

Baker, of Tahlequah, took 9,786 of 18,583 votes or 52.6 percent of ballots cast. No run-off election is needed if a candidate takes more than 50 percent of the vote.

Voters also chose to re-elect S. Joe Crittenden, of Stilwell, with 11,436 votes or 63 percent.

Cherokee Nation Election officials expect to hold a meeting Monday to certify the results.

Eight Tribal Council seats were also on the ballot.

Incumbent David Walkingstick, of District 3 in Cherokee County, was re-elected with 662 votes or 54 percent, according to unofficial results.

Incumbent Dick Lay, of Ochelata, of District 12 in Nowata, Tulsa, Washington and Rogers counties was also re-elected with 428 votes or 61 percent, according to unofficial results.

Deputy Chief S. Joe Crittenden

Deputy Chief S. Joe Crittenden

Newly elected are:

  • Rex Jordan, of Hulbert, for District 1 of Cherokee and Wagoner counties, with 63 percent or 822 votes.
  • Shawn Crittenden, of Stilwell, for District 8 in Adair County with 62 percent or 456 votes.
  • Buel Anglen, a former Tribal Councilor, in District 13 with 64 percent or 499 votes.

Run-offs are expected in Sequoyah County’s District 6 between Natalie Fullbright, pulling 588 votes or 45 percent and Bryan Warner with 463 votes or 35 percent.

At-large candidates Wanda Hatfield with 26 percent of votes will also face Betsy Swimmer with 19 percent of votes in a July 25 run-off.

In District 14 of Rogers and Tulsa counties, William Pearson leads with 508 votes to Keith Austin’s 501, but election commission officials were counting some challenge ballots Sunday in the close race.

According to the Cherokee Nation Election Commission about 62,000 Cherokee citizens are registered to vote. More than 2,000 participated in early voting and 11,000 requested absentee ballots.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :